Santa’s Sleigh takes to the road again

Santa at Hucknall Christmas Carnival
Santa at Hucknall Christmas Carnival

THE Santa’s Sleigh of Hucknall Rotary Club has become an integral part of the festive season in the town and rolls into action for the first time next Monday (December 5)

Visits will be made all over Hucknall to enable as many children as possible to meet the ever-popular man in red and to raise money for the club’s charities.

Rotarian Allan Johnson, who is co-ordinator of Hucknall Christmas Carnival, said: “The sleigh has had something of an overhaul. I haven’t even seen it yet! The tour of the town is always very popular.”

As part of the schedule, the sleigh will be in Hucknall town centre throughout the day on Friday December 9, Saturday December 10, Friday December 16 and Friday December 23.

It will be at the Tesco Extra superstore off Ashgate Road on Sunday December 11, Saturday December 17 and then Christmas Eve.

The sleigh will also be out between 6 pm and 8 pm in the following areas: Monday December 5, Ruffs Estate; Thursday December 8, Derbyshire Lane; Friday December 9, Victoria Street; Monday December 12, Jenny Burton Way; Wednesday December 14, Vaughan Estate; Thursday December 15, Beauvale; Friday December 16, Shortwood Estate; Monday December 19, Titchfield Park; Wednesday December 21, Babbacombe Way/Bolingey Way; Thursday December 22, Church Lane, Friday December 23, Polperro Way.

The sleigh will also make a fundraising trip to the Ikea store at Giltbrook on Sunday December 18.