Rolls are Spencer Cup kings again

TWENTY20 VISION -- the jubilant Rolls team celebrate their victory
TWENTY20 VISION -- the jubilant Rolls team celebrate their victory

BIG-hitting Rolls-Royce Leisure are the Twenty20 kings of the Dispatch district after landing the Hucknall Sports Spencer Cup for the second season running.

Rolls announced their liking for the popular T20 format last summer when they reached the county finals at Trent Bridge.

Saleem Karim’s troops followed up by winning the new-look, all-day Spencer Cup tourney at Papplewick Hall.

And they followed up on Bank Holiday Monday when taming arch rivals, Hucknall, in the semis before beating Notts Premier League (NPL) outfit Kimberley in the final.

The day comprised two semi-finals, played at Hucknall’s New Gatehouse Ground and Papplewick Hall, followed by a final at the latter venue.

Kimberley eased into the final by defeating fellow NPL side, Papplewick and Linby, whose failure capped a miserable season for the club in all competitions.

At the New Gatehouse, Rolls renewed rivalry with Hucknall, who had beaten them twice in Gunn And Moore South Notts League, Division A clashes this summer.

The home side posted a fair total of 127 for six in their allotted 20 overs, owing a lot to Andy Carden, who fired 51 not out, including two sixes and two fours.

Aaron Lee also made 25 (four fours), Robin Maxwell 24 and James Guthrie 17, while Rolls’s most effective bowlers were Tayyub Khan (two for 15 in four overs) and Navid Kanwall (one for six in two).

The visitors’ successful reply was engineered by opener Mahboob Elani, who carried his bat for an unbeaten 57 that included five boundaries.

Support came from Wasim Karim (21) and Waheed Khan (21 not out) as Rolls squeezed home with four balls to spare, despite a couple of wickets for Paul Harley (two for 17 in four overs).

In the final, Rolls got off to a flier as skipper Saleem Karim (three for 19 in four overs) reduced Kimberley to 25 for four.

They recovered to total 135 for seven — thanks to 53 not out (four fours) from Paldip Sidhu and 38 (three fours) from Paul Riley.

But it was not enough to trouble the holders, who received the cup from Notts CCC and Papplewick star Luke Fletcher after racing to 138 for three in reply.

Raheem Karim hit 54 (two sixes and five fours) and shared stands of 66 with Elani (24, three fours for the first wicket and 39 with Saleem Karim (21, three fours) for the second.

The winning hit — a six clubbed by Waheed Khan (18 not out) — came off the last ball of the 18th over.