Top table tennis honours for Zygabyes at annual awards

editorial image

Zygabyte Computers were presented with the Division One trophy at the Mansfield and District Table Tennis League annual presentation night after finishing as top dogs for a record ninth time.

It was again a close battle for honours with rivals Ravenshead Rascals, but the regular three-man team of Dean Brookes, Bob Hume and Joe Zygadlo came through to retain their title by six points.

Zygabyte posted consistently high-scoring results throughout the season, with their only defeat coming to a Rascals team who suffered just one setback themselves - in the two sides’ other meeting.

Ravenshead Phoenix became Division Two winners by not dropping a game all season and winning by a massive 18 points.

It was a great year for Richard Rowe, Leighton Richards, Richard Cain and Michael Cohen, with a team win average of 85% ensuring their promotion to the top flight.

The Shippam Shield final was won by Zygabyte Computers B, who beat Jacksdale MW B.

A close-run battle between the two teams throughout the evening went to the wire and saw Jacksdale 36 points up going into the last game.

With the +28 points in the sealed envelope for Zygabyte, all Jacksdale needed was not to drop more than seven points to claim victory.

However, Zyabyte’s Kev Cope finished the fixture strongly against Paul Linfield to overturn the deficit and add some more.

It was a fine team effort by Cope, Amber Zygadlo, Dave Hodgkin and Alex Millward.

Ravenshead Pingpongthers were presented with the Sportsmanship Team Trophy in what was their first season.

The league noted it has been a pleasure to have this great bunch of players in Division Two with their infectious enthusiasm and good humour.

The much-improved Amber Zygadlo was awarded the Neil Clifton Trophy. From not winning any game in Division One last year, she improved month on month and ended the season with just over 45%.

With England favourite Alan Cooke unable to attend through illness, entertainment was provided through two other international players in the shape of Chris Duran and Sam Walker.