Basketball star and carer are Pride of town

WINNERS -- Luke Mitchell and Letitia Grey with their Pride of Hucknall awards -- DISPIC NHUD12-2504-2
WINNERS -- Luke Mitchell and Letitia Grey with their Pride of Hucknall awards -- DISPIC NHUD12-2504-2

AN ‘incredibly hard-working’ student who is also a vital carer for her mum has won the Pride of Hucknall girls’ award.

Letitia Grey (17), of Sherwood Street, Hucknall, runs the key stage three drama group at Holgate Comprehensive School, Hucknall.

She acts in all Holgate’s stage productions, which includes the upcoming musical, ‘West Side Story’.

But it was Letitia’s role as a carer that clinched her award. Her mother has just undergone a successful kidney transplant after suffering chronic kidney disease.

The boys’ award went to 14-year-old Luke Mitchell, of Addison Drive, Hucknall, who goes to the town’s National Church of England Academy.

He played basketball for the East Midlands schools region team’s under-13 squad in a national tournament, which they won. He became the England under-14 captain and has been picked for England’s under-15 squad. He also excels at athletics and football.

Prizes were presented by former Hucknall Labour MP Paddy Tipping during a concert by Hucknall and Linby Mining Community Brass Band at the Central Methodist Church.

There were nearly 40 nominoees and all received medals. They included Heidi Pritchett (15), who goes to Holgate School but has been in hospital since December because of a very rare muscular disease. She attended in a wheelchair.

The other recipients were:

n Holgate — Josie Callan (England under-13 kickboxing champion), Lauren Firman (an ‘absolute gem’ and great advocate for languages), Kirsty Peat (very talented netball player), Callum James (a ‘star’ both in and outside his school form), Emily Walker (strongly involved in drama), William Humphreys (winner of Byron Festival poetry competition).

n National — Alice Allwood (Rainbows leader), Erin Gale (captain of Notts football girls under-12s), Harry Brown (promotion of pupils with autism), Michaela Witherden (performed with Let’s Dance Studio at Mansfield Palace Theatre), Lucy Wells (volunteers at Brownie pack), Michaela May (member of Youth Parliament), Lukas Marshall (leading Duke of Edinburgh award), Keiron Sheppard (football achievement), Molly McIntosh (plays cello for Nottingham Family Orchestra), Lemuel Pay (European go-karting champion), Caprice Miloro (Notts Schools high jump champion), Rimini Miloro (athletics champion), Arron Simms (judo junior referee), Katie Cresswell (represented East Midlands at netball), Georgia Wright (distinction in dancing exams), Jamie Marriott (European taekwondo champion), Cameron Henry (footballer for South Notts under-14s), Lauren Muzeja (martial arts third dan black belt), Fenelle Webster (qualified for Stoneleigh horse trials), Alex Hall (member of unbeaten champion football team), Ashleigh Hind, Daniel Mitford and Jack Mitford (football achievements). Emily Newsome, Megan Singleton and Asher Smith (excelled at drama and music), Thomas Cable (helped to develop a school in Uganda). Non-eligible 18-year-old medal winners: Alex Shelton (runs hockey club at school), Charlotte Winstanley (supports church and younger pupils), Jess Johnson (young sports and dance ambassador), Robert Needham (athletics champion).