Dance school in the awards again

editorial image

THE STARS of a long-established dance school in Bulwell pirouetted their way to a host of awards at an annual ceremony.

Pupils took tests with the National Association of Teachers of Dancing in grades ranging from rainbow awards for the under-eights through to national awards for more experienced dancers.

The awards were presented at the Tait Stanley School Of Dance headquarters on Rock Street by Derek and Mavis King, who are professional dance teachers from Nottingham.

On hand to oversee the event were principals Maurice Tait and Yvonne Stanley, who have run the school since they took over in 1984.

More than 30 awards were presented, with the youngest winner just three years old.

Throughout the afternoon of the presentation, each pupil gave a dance demonstration of their choice.

The winners were:

RAINBOW AWARDS — Irene Chan, Morgan Williams, Sophie Williams, Isabel Wright, Jasmine Evans, Eleanor Woodward, Elizabeth Wright, Brianna Brown, Mia Toplis, Angel Gough Sharrard, Dylan Woodward;

POT OF GOLD AWARD — Angel Gough Sharrard;

BRONZE BALLROOM — Emmi Curtis, Aimee Smith;

BRONZE LATIN AMERICAN — Darren Hancock, Neve Jones, Alisha Purdy, Jack Purdy, Rosario Rodriguez Fernandez, Kira Toplis. Joshua Waldrom;

SILVER LATIN AMERICAN — Darren Hancock, Charlotte Woodward;

GOLD LATIN AMERICAN — Emma Cascales Labbate, Megan Papworth;

GOLD CROSS BALLROOM — Elisha Hargreaves, Martin Stokell;



PRESIDENT’S AWARD — Rebecca Finnie, Samantha Foster

n OUR PHOTO shows the award-winners — DISPIC NHUD12-1046-1.