MP won’t back new leader

Graham Allen
Graham Allen

Bulwell MP Graham Allen decided against lending his support to any of the candidates in the Labour Party leadership race ahead of a vote.

The MP told the Dispatch: “Voting begins on August 14th so I will be listening carefully to all candidates until then.”

Mr Allen joins former leader Ed Miliband, acting leader Harriet Harmon and 26 other MPs in abstaining.

In neighbouring Ashfield, MP Gloria De Piero has lent her backing to Liz Kendall in her campaign to become the new Labour leader, and for Tom Watson, MP for West Bromwich East, as deputy.

Meanwhile Mansfield’s Alan Meale backed Andy Burnham for the top job while Vernon Coaker, MP for Gedling, tipped Yvette Cooper.

Andy Burnham, Liz Kendall, Yvette Cooper and Jeremy Corbyn have all made it onto the ballot paper for the Labour leadership race. Burnham, MP for Leigh, the bookies’ favourite, squares off against Liz Kendall, from the party’s modernising tendency, Cooper, from the party’s centre, and Corbyn, from the party’s left flank.

The Labour leadership hopefuls needed 35 MPs to nominate them in order to run. Mary Creagh was unable to secure the support she needed and dropped out.

Ben Bradshaw, Caroline Flint, Angela Eagle, Stella Creasy and Rushanara Ali are amongst Tom Watson’s competition for deputy.

The campaign for a new leader comes after Ed Miliband resigned following the party’s resounding defeat in the 2015 general election.