Stars shine at Pride of Hucknall Awards 2015

Freya Christie
Freya Christie

This Friday’s Pride of Hucknall awards ceremony will guest-star Apprentice hopeful David Stevenson and see tennis ace Freya Christie nominated for her fantastic sporting achievements.

This year 36 boys and girls of the town, aged 11 to 18, have been nominated for services to the community or for their successes in academic, artistic, or sporting fields over the past year.

David Stevenson of Hucknall (left) competes to be Lord Sugar's apprentice.

David Stevenson of Hucknall (left) competes to be Lord Sugar's apprentice.

They are joined by seven adults who are also in the running for awards at the presentation ceremony, which takes place at 7pm on Friday October 30 in the concert hall at the John Godber Centre, on Ogle Street.

Organiser Ian Morrison said: “Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination – the response has been tremendous!

“Well done to all, a complimentary ticket to the ceremony will be waiting for you on the door! Winners will be announced on the night.

“It promises to be a great night, please do come along to celebrate achievements and support your community.”

Pride of Hucknall nominees in 2011

Pride of Hucknall nominees in 2011

Tickets cost £5 for adults and £2.50 for children and senior citizens, (under fives free of charge) and are available from: John Godber Centre reception, Lawrence Severn Butchers, High Street, R&D News, Annesley Road.

Proceeds from ticket sales after costs, will go to UNICEF, a United Nations programme that provides long-term humanitarian and developmental aid to children and mothers in developing countries.

Ian said: “If we can help to educate young people at home or abroad then we are helping people reach their goals. It is what the awards are about.

“Locally we have had people who have travelled to help with children’s education in underprivileged countries. I am sure some of them will be nominated this year.”

Because schools are on half-term this week, the organisers have been contacting the nominated students individually and are appealing for help to pass the word.

The nominations for the student awards:

Lewis Allan; Tayha Fells; Emma Glover; Eleanor Gladman; Luke Mitchell; Lauren Dhiri; Katie Foster; Abbie Plaskitt; Rebecca Mitchell; Emma Varney; Tom Howarth; Corey Clarke; Felicia Miloro; Nia Oldfield; Louis Tomlinson; Emily Holmes; Finn Oldfield; Rhys Taylor; Kieran Stubbs; Jenna Price; Sophie Stevenson; Alex Abbott; Luke Bettridge; Abbie Newsome; David Allcock; Joel Goddon; Kian Irwin; Tom Beet; Alex Brind-Thorpe; Chris Morely; Cole Boreland; Kayleigh Manning; Liam Bearne; Isaac Payne; Sian Bettridge; Kaitlyn McLean.

Nominations for Adult awards:

Kate Turner; Kim Challand; David Stapleton; Paul Dellaway; Issy Pike; Freya Christie; Jan Lees.