Top teams win as Hucknall Wednesday Pool League heads for a tight finish

editorial image

Station B took advantage of leaders RB Legions open date to leapfrog them at the top of the Hucknall Wednesday Pool League after an emphatic 8-0 romp at home to a shell shocked Chequers.

RB Legion B beat Liberal to remain second and H2O beat Station A to go third.

The league looks to be heading for a very tight conclusion for a third consecutive year.

Two years ago the top four teams all finished on the same number of points.

Station B’s winners in their 8-0 romp at home to Chequers were George Roy, David Butler, Jason Smith, Danny Butler, Roger Green and PJ Singh on singles and the pairings of Andrea and Roger Green and Danny Butler and Jason Smith.

Station B’s inter-pub rivals Station A fared less well suffering an 8-0 drubbing at H2O.

Sean Chauntry registered wins on the opening singles leg before teaming up with pairs partner Adam Fowkes to take the first pairs leg,

Ash Smith had taken leg two in between. Martin Saxton, Fowkes and Dominic Beedall won the other singles legs and Smith and Jim Campbell took the second pairs leg.

RB Legion B hosted Liberal and enjoyed a 5-3 victory. Mark Sheppard took the first leg to put Liberal 1-0 up, but all that did was spark a Legion backlash as the home side took the next five legs to lead 5-1, Mark Hardstaff, Wayne Cartledge and Kieran Sheppard on singles and Colin Draycott and Sheppard and Malc Grocock and Dean Dymock on pairs.

Liberal took the final two legs to make the scoreline more respectable, Mick and Aiden Hewes taking the legs.

The Tree registered a good 6-2 win at Green Dragon. James Bettridge, Gary Lester, the pairing of Bettridge and David Salmon and Salmon put The Tree 4-0 ahead.

Tommy Wilson pulled a leg back for Dragon before the pairing of Joe Hammond and Michael Salmon secured the points for The Tree. Rich Hyslop took leg seven for Dragon but The Tree Captain Joe Hammond had the last say taking the final leg.

The inter pub derby between Bestwood SC B and Bestwood SC A resulted in a hard fought 5-3 win for the A team.

Jeremy Vickers got Bestwood A off to a good start taking the first leg before Alan Allsopp levelled for the B team.

The pairing of Connor Perkins and Dan Smith and Dillon Robnson on singles put the A team 3-1 up. Bestwood B responded well to draw level at 3-3, Vaughan Jackson winning on singles before pairing up with Mark Lees.

Bestwood A then secured the points taking the last two legs in the hands of Michael Bull and Dave Horan.

Pic cap: Sean Chauntry, who won twice for H2O.