Jeff Moore is named as new chairman of Nottinghamshire CCC

Jeff Moore has been elected chairman of Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 11th March 2021, 10:25 am
Jeff Moore is the new chairman of Notts CCC.
Jeff Moore is the new chairman of Notts CCC.

Moore, who takes over from Richard Tennant,

joined the General Committee in 2014, serving as Vice Chairman under Tennant’s stewardship.

Moore's career as a Chairman and Chief Executive in the public and private sectors included seven years as CEO of the East Midlands Development Agency.

He also served as Chairman of Notts County Football Club in the mid-2000s.

“It is an honour to be elected Chairman of the club,” he said.

“Nottinghamshire as a club and Trent Bridge as a venue both contribute so much to the local and national landscape – whether in a sporting or commercial sense, or in the deep-rooted feeling of community we all experience when we step through the gates.

“I'm tremendously proud to have the opportunity to succeed Richard, whose contributions over a twenty-year period have been immense.

“With an ever-changing cricketing landscape, a clear desire to grow the game and the continuing ramifications of Covid-19, the years to come will bring considerable challenges, but I’m looking forward to ensuring the club progresses and prospers.

“We have a clear vision to ensure we retain the Test Match status of Trent Bridge, compete for honours on the field of play and continue our community work throughout Nottinghamshire.”

With Tennant also choosing to step down from the General Committee after 20 years’ service, and with Darren Bicknell's term coming to an end, two elected positions were confirmed at the 2021 AGM. Richard Stevenson and Diana Peasey were both re-elected.

Stevenson, who joined the General Committee in 2018, will also take on the role of Vice-Chair.

Dr Ravi Badge and Andy Hunt were the first appointments made by the newly-formed Nominations Panel, established to ensure the General Committee comprises individuals with the relevant skills, knowledge, diversity and experience.

Basher Hassan, meanwhile, was awarded a second year as President.