Rain is the winner in the Mansfield & District League

The rain was the main winner in the Mansfield & District League last weekend as only three of the 34 fixtures avoided the wet.

By Godfrey Kerry
Tuesday, 5th May 2015, 10:17 am

In Section Four, Sherwood went to Papplewick & Linby with only eight players and lost by 10 wickets.

Only Steve Hunt, with a score of 49 for Sherwood, showed any resistance to Papplewick’s attack as they were all out for 77.

Tom Simpson (41not out) and Sam Paulson (30 not out) both batted undefeated for the home side.

In Section Seven, Nomads were all out for just 34 and lost to Grassmoor by nine wickets. J. Hawkins taking 6-5 for Grassmoor.

The only other match was in Section Five at Sheffield Transport, where the home side batted first and made 258-7 from their overs. Top score was M. Ibrahim with an unbeaten 123. In reply Anston reached 221-5.

In Section Two Creswell called off their match on Saturday short of players, thus giving Morton 20 points.



At Ryton Road:ANSTON (6) v SHEFFIELD COLLIEGIATE (6) no play - rain.

At Langwith Road: CUCKNEY (6) v ASTON HALL (6) no play - rain.

At Staveley Lane:ECKINGTON (1) v GLAPWELL (6) no play - rain.

At Station Lane: FARNSFIELD (6) v HUCKNALL (6) no play - rain.


At Milkin Lane:ASHOVER (6) v MAREHAY (6) no play - rain.

At Stonelow Park:COAL ASTON (6) v MANSFIELD HOSIERY MILL (6) no play - rain.

At The Copper Yard: DENBY (6) v TEVERSAL (6) no play - rain.

At Greenhills Road:EASTWOOD (6) v GRASSMOOR (6) no play - rain.

At Silkstone Road:FRECHEVILLE COMMUNITY (6) v KIRKBY PORTLAND (6) no play - rain.


At The Miners Welfare: BLIDWORTH (6) v UNDERWOOD (6) no play - rain.

At The Old Colliery: CRESWELL (-25) v MORTON (20) - Creswell failed to raise a team.

At Olivers Mount: HANDSWORTH WMC (6) v PARKHEAD (6) no play - rain.

At Holme Lane: SOUTH WINGFIELD (6) v BLACKWELL (6) no play - rain.

At Rectory Drive: WHISTON PCCC (6) v COAL ASTON II (6) no play - rain.


At Alfreton Park: ALFRETON (6) v OCKBROOK & BORROWASH (6) no play - rain.

At the Recreational Ground: HOLMEWOOD (6) v SHIREOAKS (6). no play - rain.

At Nuncargate Road: KIRKBY PORTLAND II (6) v MANSFIELD (6) no play - rain.


At Christchurch Meadows: BELPER MEADOWS (6) v SOUTH NORMANTON (6) no play - rain.

At The Abbey: BYRON ABBEY (6) v WALESWOOD (6) no play - rain.

At Cutthorpe Park: CUTTHORPE (6) WIRKSWORTH & MIDDLETON (6) no play - rain.

At Fox Lane: HOLLINSEND (6) v SHEFFIELD UNITED (6) no play - rain.

At Papplewick Hall: SHERWOOD (0) 77 (Steve Hunt 49, Alex Hudson 3-22) lost to PAPPLEWICK & LINBY II (20) 79-0 (Tom Simpson 41*, Sam Paulson 30*) by 10 wickets.


At Staveley Miners Welfare: CHESTERFIELD CC (6) v PHEASANT HILL (6) no play - rain.

All Hallows Street: ORDSALL BRIDON (6) v WEDNESDAY (6) no play - rain.

At The Parish Ground: SELSTON (6) v DRONFIELD WOODHOUSE SUNDAY XI (6) no play - rain.

At The Sports Club: SHEFFIELD TRANSPORT (16) 258-7 (T. Baig 66, M. Ibrahim 123*, C. Graham 3-47) drew with ANSTON II (9)221-5 (C. Graham 58, M. Summerville 49*, A. Barley 46).

At The Model Village: SHIREBROOK (6) v ASHOVER II (6) no play - rain.


At Walton Dam: CHESTERFIELD BARBARIANS (6) v BAWTRY (6) no play - rain

At Forest Corner: EDWINSTOWE (6) v LANGWITH (6) no play - rain.

At Stone Close: KIVETON PARK (6) v MANSFIELD II (6) no play - rain.

At Crays Park: SWANWICK (6) v BELPER MEADOWS (6) no play - rain.

At Caernarvon Street: TEVERSAL II (6) v CLOWNE TOWN (6) no play - rain.


At Racecourse Park: NOMADS (0) 34 (J. Hawkins 6-5) lost to GRASSMOOR II (20) 35-1 by nine wickets.

At Cricket Field Lane: WALESWOOD II (6) v ANSTON LADIES (6) no play – rain.


PREMIER DIVISION: Farnsfield v Anston; Hucknall v Cuckney, Welbeck v Sheffield Collegiate. SECTION ONE: Kirkby Portland v Denby, Marehay v Eastwood, Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Teversal. SECTION TWO: Handsworth v Blackwell, Morton v Blidworth, Parkhead v Coal Aston, South Wingfield v Creswell, Whiston PC v Underwood. SECTION THREE: Alfreton v Norton Oakes, Papplewick & Linby v Killamarsh, Ockbrook & Borrowash v Kirkby Portland, Mansfield v Holmewood, Shireoaks v Welbeck. SECTION FOUR: Belper Meadows v Papplewick & Linby, Sherwood v Cutthorpe, South Normanton v Hollisend, Waleswood v Wirksworth & Middleton. SECTION FIVE: Ashover v Chesterfield, Dronfield Woodhouse v Sheffield Transport, Orsdall Bridon v Anston, Shirebrook v Pheasant Hill. SECTION SIX: Bawtry v Belper Meadows, Edwinstowe v Kiveton Park, Langwith v Clowne, Teversal v Swanwick. SECTION SEVEN: Anston Ladies v Nomads, Hundall v Eckington, Sheffield Transport v Woodsetts, Thoresby v Grassmoor.