NMAC Abbey win inaugural John Radford tournament

editorial image

Abbey Primary School won the inaugural John Radford Football Tournament at Mansfield Town’s One Call Stadium.

This was run over two days in which various schools from the area played each other in a mini league with the two finalists earning the opportunity to play on the Mansfield Town pitch.

Abbey Primary eventually beat King Edward Primary School after a hard fought match with a winning goal scored by 10-year-old Aaron Clarke.

Mansfield Town chairman John Radford then went to the school to present the trophy.

Team manager Gareth Clarke said: “The team played very well and represented the school superbly. They truly deserve this award for the dedication and hard work put in this season. I am very proud of them all.”

Pictured from left to right on the front row are the team. Bailey Curtis, Lewis Kissane, Kieran Walker, Aaron Clarke, Ronan Haynes, Thom Davis, Jack Garley and Ewan McBeal. They are pictured with Mrs Kim Wakefield, head teacher, Mr Gareth Clarke, team manager and teacher at Abbey Primary School, John Radford, chairman of Mansfield Town Football Club, and other representatives from the Stags.