T8’s swat Barflys again to make it five Hucknall derbies in a row

BIG CHEESE -- Ross Cheeseman (left), who scored two of T8's goals against his former club.
BIG CHEESE -- Ross Cheeseman (left), who scored two of T8's goals against his former club.
Share this article

The latest Hucknall derby between the biggest names in Hucknall Sunday football went the same way as the previous four with T8’S swatting BARFLYS H2O.

Defending champions T8’s strolled to a 5-1 victory over newly-named Flys in the Notts Sunday Morning League’s Premier Premier Division.

And that makes it five wins in a row over their arch rivals since Reece Jackson’s team were promoted to the top flight.

Flys, struggling at the foot of the table with only one point from their first five matches, bolstered their line-up with the inclusion of Linby Colliery Welfare players.

And the first 20 minutes were tight and competitive with tackles flying in and yellow cards being brandished.

At one end, Alistair Murray had a header cleared off the line for T8’s, while at the other, Simon Martin’s free-kick was tipped over by Jake Pearson.

However, once T8’s had broken the deadlock in the 25th minute -- Andy Start scoring from the spot after a rash challenge on Murray -- the outcome was never in any doubt.

Ten minutes later, Ross Cheeseman made it 2-0 against his old club, looping the ball over an out-of-position ‘keeper.

And five minutes into the second half, Start poked home his second after beating his marker to the front post.

Flys squandered a chance to get back into it when missing a dubiously-awarded penalty -- Pearson superbly tipping the kick on to a post.

And T8’s duly rubbed salt into their wounds when Kyle McDermott produced the goal of the game, curling home after a bout of slick, quick passing had ripped the home side apart

A second spot-kick for Flys was tucked away by Simon Marlow. But the match was completed by another goal by Cheeseman, who blasted home from ten yards after good work by substitute Danny Gamble.

LINE-UP -- BARFLYS: Cole/ Marlow S., Marlow D., Henshaw, Fox, Miller, Martin, Niblett C., Samuels, Coupe, Melbourne. Subs: Marriott, Wealthall, Dickinson.

T8’S: Pearson J./ O’Neill, Peberday, Hayes D.., Short, Mann, Ryan, Murray, McDermott, Start A., Cheeseman. Subs: Gamble. Davies N., Winfield.