Bassetlaw League: Hosiery Mills power on

Edwinstowe v Mansfield Hosiery Mills, pictured is Mansfield batsman Matt Allen
Edwinstowe v Mansfield Hosiery Mills, pictured is Mansfield batsman Matt Allen

Relegated Mansfield Hosiery Mills continue to amass Bassetlaw League Championship points, gaining an additional 20 with a 99-run victory over Edwinstowe.

Mills batted first, scoring 247-9 with Kamal Manek (78) and Matt New (97) on form.

Edwinstowe’s Paul Benson took 5-76 and Joe Shaw 4-63.

But Edwinstowe were only able to take five points in reply, having been bowled out for 148 with James Dobson contributing 63.

Matt New was successful with the ball as well as the bat, taking 4-41 for the visiting team.

Papplewick & Linby held onto their top positon as Justin Brathwaite (57) and Gareth Blinkhorn (51) provided 108 of their 208-7.

Opponents Worksop’s Bernard Bheukman made an impressive 117, but it wasn’t enough for the home team as they lost by 17 runs with Papplewick’s Richard Hodgkinson finishing with figures of 4-43.

Anston achieved a sound home win against North Wheatley with Leverton, assisted by Amila Perera’s bowling of 3-29 and a score of 51 with the bat.

The seven wicket victory was enhanced by Callum Smith’s 59 not out as the home team responded to North Wheatley with Leverton’s 177 all out with Jonny Loates reaching 94 not out.

Unfortunately for the visitors, further bowling performances of 3-53 by Andy Ruczenczyn and Ian Barley’s 3-23 prevented their chances of a more substantial score.

Despite a total of 230-6, Kiveton Park were only able to take seven points as they lost to Thoresby Colliery by two wickets, who came out of the game with 18 points.

Similarly, Glapwell took 18 points as Luke Smith (81) and Danny Bircumshaw (36) helping them to 230-6 in their winning draw with Notts & Arnold Amateur.

Jordan Sergeant took four of the Glapwell wickets for 48 with Dilhan Cooray taking three for the same number of runs.

But Glapwell’s Chris Webber took the most wickets in the game with 7-26 as Notts & Arnold Amateur replied to Glapwell’s 201-9 with 151-9, Ben Scott making a top score of 35.

Retford took a maximum 20 points after bowling Clipstone Welfare out for 193 and reaching 195 with four wickets intact.



CHAMPIONSHIP: Clipstone v Kiveton Park, Glapwell v Anston, Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Retford, North Wheatley with Leverton v Worksop, Papplewick & Linby v Edwinstowe, Thoresby Colliery v Notts & Arnold Amateur. DIVISION ONE: Blidworth v Mansfield, Caythorpe II v Everton, Clumber Park v Whitwell, Firbeck v West Indian Cavaliers II, Grassmoor v Harthill, Ordsall Bridon II v Killamarsh. DIVISION TWO: Anston II v Welbeck II, Cuckney II v Glapwell II, Killamarsh II v Farnsfield II, Lea Park v Papplewick & Linby II, Milton v Thoresby Colliery II, Roses v Mansfield Hosiery Mills II. DIVISION THREE: Edwinstowe II v Woodsetts, Kiveton Park II v Marshalls, Mansfield II v Bawtry, Notts & Arnold Amateur II v Teversal, Retford II v Wadworth, Welbeck III v Clumber Park II. DIVISION FOUR: Cuckney III v Waleswood, Everton II v Milton II, South Normanton v Notts & Arnold Amateur III, Sherwood v East Drayton, Thoresby Park v Blidworth II, Worksop II v North Wheatley with Leverton II. DIVISION FIVE: Clumber Park III v Wiseton, Harthill II v Nomads, Mansfield Hosiery Mills III v Blyth, Mansfield III v Grassmoor II, Misterton v Anston III. DIVISION SIX: Bawtry II v Aston Hall III, Bilsthorpe v Papplewick & Linby III, Shirebrook v Farnsfield III, Teversal II v Ollerton, Todwick v Welbeck IV. DIVISION SEVEN: Blyth II v Mansfield Hosiery Mills IV, Glapwell III v Clumber Park IV, Waleswood v Clipstone II. DIVISION EIGHT: Anston IV v Cuckney IV, Thoresby Colliery III v Woodsetts III, Thurcroft v Mansfield IV, Wiseton II v Lea Park II.


CHAMPIONSHIP: Anston v Thoresby Colliery, Edwinstowe v North Wheatley & Leverton, Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Papplewick & Linby, Notts & Arnold Amateur v Clipstone, Retford v Kiveton Park, Worksop v Glapwell. DIVISION ONE: Harthill v Whitwell. DIVISION THREE: Bawtry v Edwinstowe II. DIVISION SIX: Bilsthorpe v Rockware, Papplewick & Linby III v Teversal II. DIVISION SEVEN: Killamarsh III v Woodsetts II, Sherwood v Blyth II. DIVISION EIGHT: Thoresby Colliery III v Milton III.