Charity donation right on cue at pool presentation

THE Hucknall EPA Pool League was right on cue when it came to generosity at its annual presentation night.

For the league presented £350 to the Teenage Cancer Trust charity — and added a further £150, which was raised at the event, held at the Royal British Legion social club.

Players and officials reflected on another successful season for the ever-popular league, which boasts 14 teams.

The champions were Spot-On Low-C and their ten-strong line-up of Simon Moralee, Colin Draycott, Steve Tomlinson, Tim Hudson, Baz Mayes, Sean Chauntry, Paul Brady, Ryan Norris, Martin Boston and Phil Maycock.

Low-C took the title ahead of runners-up Royal British Legion A, whose side comprised Richard Devine, Glynn Devine, Nige Burton, Carl Severn, Tim McShane, Frank Elkington, Ryan Orton, Martin Bremner, Tom Burton and Nidge Orton.

However they didn’t have it all their own way because Low-C were beaten in the final of the Knockout Cup by Empire A (Joe Etherington, Geoff Taylor, Brian Woodward, Tony Dobb, Mick Fowkes, Kev Wood, Gary Woodfield, Rob Roylance, Michael Holmes-Parker and Steve Wood).

On the individual front, the winner of the league’s singles championship was Nidge Orton, of Legion A, who beat Mike Vernon, of Station Hotel (Hucknall) A, in the final.

The pairs champions were Malc Grocock and Dean Dymock, of Legion B, who defeated Legion A duo Ryan Hewitt and Tim McShane in the final.

While the winner of the individual rakings table was Tim Hudson, star of champions Low-C.

Other awards presented on the night went to — Mellors Bicknell Shield winners, Royal British Legion B; Mellors Bicknell Shield runners-up, Harrier; Scotch pairs winners, Richard Devine and Nige Burton (Royal British Legion A); Scotch pairs runners-up, Paul Hibbard and Scott Oxford (Station B); Champion Of Champions winner, Nidge Orton (Royal British Legion A).

Captains And Secretaries Competition winners, Paddy McShane and Dave Butler (Station B); Captains And Secretaries Competition runners-up, Nidge Orton and Richard Devine (Legion A); Team Rankings champion, Joe Etherington (Empire A); Sporting Award, Chequers Inn A.

Presentations were also made to all the players who completed an eight-ball clearance during the season.

The new 2011/2012 season starts on Wednesday September 21. Officials for the campaign will be Paddy McShane (chairman), Bill Hardy (treasurer) and Jill Dobb (match secretary).