Christmas as the divisional leaders

Share this article

LEADERS Nottinghamshire, who play out of the Rolls-Royce Leisure Club in Hucknall, travelled to Derbyshire for their third match of the British Inter Counties Darts Championship.

Despite derby nerves, Notts won the East Midlands battle 23-13 to secure a five-point lead over Cornwall at the top of Division One.

As always, the Ladies B team started the weekend’s battle. Order of play was Karen Staton, Eleanor Dunn, Julie Pipe, Margaret Bamford (lady-of-the-match), Jennifer Whatmough and Kelly Henry.

The home side took a 2-0 lead by the Notts girls stormed back to win 4-2.

The Men’s B also had a brilliant battle in an 8-4 win. The order of play was Paul Harvey, Wayne Pepper, Graham Cook, Neil Ward, Richard Palmer, Neil Lawton, Darren Layden, Tom Allies (man-of-the-match), Lyndon Hextall, Mick Pitchford, Trevor Ellis and Ashley Spencer.

Leading 12-6 at the end of the first day, the advantage was cut after the ladies’ A team featuring Sara Faulkner, Kristy Handford (lady-of-the-match), Jennifer Whatmough, Lesley Allick, Helen Harvey and Nicola McNamara lost 4-2.

So with the score now 14-10, the Men’s A rose to the stage. Order of play was Wayne Pepper, Tom Allies, Derek Shipley, Brian Kirk Neil Birkin Andre McCraken, Peter McConville, Tim Broadhurst, Mark Wilson, Andy Kerr, Jay Foreman and David McGarry.

And any fears were dispelled as the locals played brilliant darts and secured what in the end proved to be an emphatic victory.

Nottinghamshire’s next BICC match is against Hampshire at Rolls-Royce over the weekend of January 19 and 20 next year.