Cuckney crowned Nottinghamshire Premier League champions

NMAC-06092014-Cuckney v Rolls Royce Leisure'Cuckney celebrate their Nottinghamshire Premier League title on Saturday
NMAC-06092014-Cuckney v Rolls Royce Leisure'Cuckney celebrate their Nottinghamshire Premier League title on Saturday

Nottinghamshire Cricket Board Premier League – Round 21 Review

Cuckney have lifted their second Nottinghamshire Premier League title in three seasons after they defeated Rolls Royce Leisure.

There was to be no repeat of last years end of season slump as Rolls Royce Leisure were despatched with minimal fuss at Langwith Road.

Rolls were asked to bat first after home skipper Will Butler won the toss. Rolls were soon in trouble as Lewis Bramley reduced them to 22 for three.

Once again Dan Birch was the main hope for Rolls, but when he fell for 57 making the score 99 for seven it was backs to the wall.

Steve Atkinson dug in for 30 as Rolls were dismissed for 147 in the 42nd over. Lewis Bramley finishing with six for 48 from his 15 overs.

Cuckney needed just 37 overs to reach their target and claim the title.

Luke Thomas leading the charge with an unbeaten 75 as he and Daniel Wood (31 not out) added 80 for the third wicket to secure an eight wicket win, Steve Atkinson taking both wickets.

The relegation battle will go down to the final weekend as none of the three sides involved took enough points to secure safety.

Mansfield Hosiery Mills slid to the foot of the table as they took just four points from a draw at Caythorpe.

MHM won the toss and opted to bowl first, a decision that meant watching James Hawley and Martyn Dobson bat most of the day.

The pair put on 196 for the opening stand, before Dobson fell for 88, followed shortly after by Hawley for 99. Steve Allcoat (37 not out) and Mat Dowman (21 not out) added a quick 60 as Caythorpe tallied 258 for two.

Caythorpe claimed two early wickets and once the 78 run partnership between Mark Smallwood (44) and Matt New (45) was ended victory looked unlikely. Keshara Jayasinghe compiled a patient 42 not out to martial his side to a draw. Tim Haines, George McCaffrey and James Hawley all claiming two victims each.

Ordsall Bridon moved seven points ahead of MHM after they benefitted from their match with Clifton Village being abandoned.

Ordsall won the toss and asked their visitors to bat. A number of Village batsmen made starts without making it count on their way to a total of 240 all out from 46 overs.

Richard Harris (48) and Scott McNeill (47) top scored while the Mierkalns brothers, Caleb and Daniel both got into the 20s. Tim Miles claimed three for 47, backed up by two apiece for Aqab Ahmed and Gary Andrews.

As has been the case several times this season, Ordsall got off to a good start with the bat before getting into a bit of a hole.

Paul van den Heuvel (36) and Tim Miles (27) added 72 for the first wicket, before Adam Shepherd took four for 42 as they slipped to 124 for six.

It was 155 for seven from 35 overs when the weather claimed the match. Ordsall taking 11 points.

Welbeck Colliery will go into the final game needing eight points to secure their Premier League status after the gained nine points from their draw with Kimberley Institute.

The home side won the toss and will have been well pleased with their total of 280 for nine after electing to bat. Tom Rowe was the star with a fine 139.

He was well supported in a stand of 116 by Alexander Aldred who made 48, and earlier, Sam Ogrizovic with 39.

Andrew Marchant (3-40) and Robert French (3-70) did best with the ball. The Welbeck reply of 214 for eight was led by Richard Stroh’s 89 backed up by Jonathon Ball with 35, Andrew Parkin-Coates (23) and Matt Cross (21). Alex King with three wickets and Ben Savage with 2 kept them in check.

The days other game saw the end of relatively slim title hopes for both the NCB Academy and their visitors, West Indian Cavaliers.

The Academy won the toss and invited their guests to bat, Cavs building a score of 209 for seven around a 119 run third wicket partnership between Usman Afzaal (93) and Akhil Patel (57). Ben Kitt claimed 4 for 52 with a couple of wickets for Adam Tillcock.

No Academy batsman was able to make a telling contribution as victory looked unlikely until Adam Tillcock cracked a succession of boundaries leaving the target three runs away as Saqlain Mushtaq came on for the final over.

With Tillcock powerless at the non-strikers end the veteran took three for one in that over to secure a draw.

Tillcock’s unbeaten 49 top scored while Anuj Dal made 35, Paul Franks 34 and Hassan Azad 24, Saqlain finishing with six for 46 from his 15 overs.