Danny buoyed by rankings title success in Hucknall League

HUCKNALL EPA Pool League round-up.
HUCKNALL EPA Pool League round-up.

With the title race already decided, all eyes were on the individual rankings table on the last night of the HUCKNALL EPA POOL LEAGUE season.

And after an exciting finale, the newly-crowned champion was Danny Butler, of Station Hotel B, who recorded his 19th victory from 22 matches to finish with a tally of 139 points and a strike rate of 90%.

Brother and teammate Dave Butler was third on 127 points (17 wins from 21 matches), and the pair sandwiched runner-up Curly Johnstone, of champions Royal British Legion A, who bagged 134 points from 18 wins in 22.

The rest of the top nine was made up by Will Clark (Liberal, 120 points), Tony Flanagan (BH2O, 119), Dave Wainwright (Legion A, 118), Dave Ellis (H2O, 117), Steve Wood (Legion A, 117) and Malc Grocock (Legion B, 117).

The highlight of the final night of action was a first win of the season for bottom-of-the-table Green Dragon. What’s more, they achieved it against their inter-pub rivals, The Dragon, who had become the only side to beat the champions two weeks earlier!

After 18 defeats in 21 outings, Green Dragon triumphed 5-3 thanks to wins by Mick Bradley, Liam Marshall, the pairing of Marshall and Martin Fox and then, on the last two singles legs, Luke O’Dwyer and Tommy Wilson.

The top two teams, Legion A and Legion B, both signed off with 4-4 draws -- against Liberal Club and Yew Tree respectively. Wins on the last two legs by Steve Clark and Will Clark grabbed Liberal a point, while Yew Tree threw away a lead of 3-0.

Draws were also fought out by Station Hotel A at home to H2O and by Spot-On Club at home to Bestwood Village Social Club, while Station B, inspired by the aforementioned Butler boys, won 5-3 at Chequers.