First defeat for pool league champions

CHAMPIONS Station Hotel B suffered their first defeat
CHAMPIONS Station Hotel B suffered their first defeat

Defending champions Station Hotel B suffered their first defeat of the new HUCKNALL EPA POOL LEAGUE season in the third week of fixtures.

Old rivals Royal British Legion A beat Station B 5-3 to maintain their 100 per cent start to the campaign.

After Dan Butler had taken the opening leg for the visitors, Legion A responded with wins for Michael Holmes-Parker and the doubles pairing of Robbie Roylance and Mick Fowkes.

Station B hit back to lead 3-2, only for the home team to take the last three legs in the hands of Dave Wainwright, Fowkes and the pairing of Johnstone and Wainwright.

The only other side with an unblemished record after the first three games of the season are Royal British Legion B, who eased to a 6-2 success away to The Dragon.

An eight-ball clearance by Joe Etherington was the highlight of the win, with Dean Dymock, Geoff Taylor, Malc Grocock and the pairings of Dymock and Grocock and Etherington and Taylor also victorious.

Two teams -- Yew Tree and Harrier H2O -- have recorded two wins from their opening three fixtures.

Tree triumphed 6-2 at The Chequers, where Karl Jones, Lee Breedon, Dean North and Ian Wikeley were among their victors, while H2O recovered from 3-2 down to edge out Liberal Club 5-3. The last three legs were won by Adam Fowkes, Zak Ellis and the partnership of Adam and Tony Fowkes.

The week’s other two matches ended in a 4-4 draw between Station Hotel A and Empire and a 6-2 victory for Bestwood Village Social Club at home to Green Dragon, who could field only six legs.

Station A led 2-1 but then trailed 4-2 before wins on the last two legs for Phil Buck and Josh Hibbard. Empire, who are the only team in the league yet to win, had begun the night with an eight-ball clearance from William Pates before further successes from Kerry Rodgers, Shaun Bettridge and the pairing of Rodgers and Paul Stevenson.

Bestwood’s first victory of the season was earned by early wins from Matt Dilger, who was successful on singles and pairs, Dillon Robinson and Dave Horan.