H2O inflict first defeat of season on title-chasing Legion B

FIRST defeat of the season for title-chasers
FIRST defeat of the season for title-chasers

The performance of the week in the HUCKNALL EPA POOL LEAGUE was provided by H2O, who became the first team this season to defeat title-chasing Royal British Legion B.

H2O quickly built a 3-0 lead in the hands of Tony Flanagan and Dave Ellis on singles and then Adam Fowkes and Martin Saxton on pairs. And they went on to secure a 5-3 victory that was sewn up before the final leg.

The result lifted the visiting team into third position in the table, only two points behind second-placed Legion B, who now trail the leaders, Royal British Legion A, by four clear points.

Legion A extended their unbeaten record this term to ten matches when recovering from an early scare to triumph 6-2 away to Chequers.

The top dogs trailed 2-1 after defeats for Tony Dobb and also the pairing of Mick Fowkes and Steve Wood, who were rocked by Chris Reedman and Ben Hathersmith. But they hit back to land five legs on the spin, courtesy of Steve Wood, Curly Johnstone, Dave Wainwright, Mark Wigginton and the pairing of Wainwright and Johnstone.

Elsewhere, victories were celebrated by Yew Tree, Station Hotel A and Liberal Club, while The Dragon and defending champions Station Hotel B shared a 4-4 draw.

Tree triumphed 5-3 at Empire, who threw away a 2-1 lead supplied by Shane Henson and James Betteridge. The visitors’ heroes were Dion Nangle, Karl Jones, Ian Wikeley and, on the last leg, Wayne Betteridge, who defeated Joe Hammond.

Station A piled on the woes for bottom-of-the-table Green Dragon in a 7-1 rout engineered by Paul Heath, Steve Kearns, Josh Hibbard, Paul Hibbard, Alan Foster and the pairings of Foster and Rob Mitchell and Heath and Paul Hibbard.

Liberal retrieved a 2-0 deficit to beat stuggling Bestwood Village Social Club 5-3. Ray Oldham, Will Clark and the partnership of Bill Hardy and Bill Clark launched the revival, which was completed on the final two legs by Ed Clark and Bill Clark.

Station B looked ripe for a win at The Dragon when sailing into a 4-1 lead, despite an eight-ball clearance from Bud Chatwin for the home side. But wins on singles and pairs by Steve McIntyre inspired a fightback.

THE league’s individual rankings table is headed by Danny Butler, of Station B, who boasts nine wins from ten for 65 points, five in front of Curly Johnstone (Legion A) and Ian Wikeley (Yew Tree).