Last night for Linby Ladies before Notts County switch

PROUD Linby Colliery Welfare Ladies celebrated their 14th and final season before taking on the name of Notts County.

A packed house at the John Godber Centre in Hucknall enjoyed the club’s annual presentation night — and looked forward to the exciting link-up with the Magpies.

As well as reflecting on the season just gone, Linby looked back on their highly successful past, via videos and photos. Every player received an award and a commemorative booklet.

The highlight of the 2010/11 campaign was a Notts Girls League and cup double for the under-16s, while the under-15s reached the final of the Notts FA Challenge Shield, losing only on penalties.

The winners of the club’s individual awards were:

MANAGERS’ PLAYER OF THE YEAR — under-9s Phoebe Wardle-Collins, under-11s Alex Mills, under-12s Chloe Peat, under-15s Katrina Bloomer, under-16s Abigayle Wetton, senior team Kayley Shaw.

COACHES’ PLAYER OF THE YEAR — under-9s Siobhan Simms, under-11s Kaitlyn O’Dowd, under-12s Hannah Elson, under-15s Ellen Marriott, under-16s Hazel Bowen, senior team Selina Brierley.

PLAYERS’ PLAYER OF THE YEAR — under-9s Emma Hodges, under-11s Jaycie Smith, under-12s Chloe Cope, under-15s Sophie Beldham, under-16s Shanie Oliver, senior team Beth Wilcockson.

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER OF THE YEAR — under-9s Elena Gale, under-11s Nicole Christian, under-12s Sophie Williamson, under-15s Jade Beniston, under-16s Georgina Cook, senior team Courtney Walters.

SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR — under-9s Lucia Wardle, under-11s Heather Briggs, under-12s Amy Wilson, under-15s Gaby Oxley, under-16s Alex Francis, senior team Karen Cole.

The Chairman’s Award was presented to Linby’s treasurer and sopcial secretary, Lynne Thompson, who has worked extremely hard for the club over the past 12 months.

The Millennium Shield for parents went to husband and wife team Neil and Cheryl Cresswell, while The Jubilee Trophy was won by senior player Laura Muir.

The Peter Shilton Goalkeeping Trophy was handed to under-9s’ cat Jessica Thompson, and the club’s top scorer award was won by under-16s’ striker Shanie Oliver with 32 goals.

The John Betteridge Memorial Shield was kindly donated by the parents of one of the club’s former coaches, who died last year, aged just 42. It was presented by John’s wife, Joanne, to the team of the year, the under-16s.

Linby chairman Andrew Eastwood paid tribute to the many volunteers at the club.