Leaders Station drop first points at Park Tavern

Leaders Station Hotel (Hucknall) B dropped their first point of the season as the HUCKNALL EPA POOL LEAGUE returned to action.

After three weeks of games in the Knockout Cup, singles and pairs championships, the campaign resumed with Station B two points clear.

However, that advantage was cut in half by a 4-4 draw away to Park Tavern, who even led 3-2 and 4-3 before Paddy McShane took the final leg for the visitors. Station B’s other winners were Sean Chauntry and the pairings of Chauntry and Daniel Butler and Tim McShane and Ian Wikeley.

Closing in on the top dogs are the only other unbeaten team in the league, Royal British Legion B, after a 7-1 hammering of Green Dragon.

Legion B were on top from the moment Wayne Cartledge won the opening leg. Colin Draycott, Mark Hardstaff, Roy Bicker, Pete Gardner, Dean Dymock, Malc Grocock and the partnership of Hardstaff and Dave Stacey-King were also triumphant.

Liberal Club moved up to third place with a 5-3 victory at Harrier, which was clinched by a last-leg success for Bill Hardy. Earlier winners had been Mark Sheppard, William Clark and the pairings of Hardy and Bill Clark and Sheppard and William Clark.

Elsewhere The Dragon and Empire made progess up the table after convincing wins.

Dragon licked Bestwood Village Social Club 6-2 with the help of an eight-ball clearance by Steve McIntyre, which followed success on singles and pairs by Shane Wood.

Empire enjoyed an even easier ride away to bottom-of-the-table Chequers, who have yet to pick up a point in seven matches. The visitors romped home 7-1 on the back of victories by Michael Holmes-Parker, Robbie Roylance, Curly Johnstone, Mick Fowkes, Steve Wood, Bryan Woodward and the pairing of Woodward and Phil Dalmedo.

THE league’s individual rankings table is currently led by Park Tavern’s Joe Etherington with 46 points after six wins from eight matches.

Four players share second spot on 44 points after six wins from seven games. They are Shane Wood (The Dragon), Curly Johnstone (Empire), Mark Hardstaff (Legion B) and Bill Hardy (Liberal).