Legion top pool league going into New Year


As the Hucknall Wednesday Pool League breaks for two weeks for Christmas, RB Legion A will be feeling in the festive mood more than most.

In the latest round of matches they extended their unbeaten start to the season to 10 games to ensure they go into the New Year as league leaders. The latest win came courtesy of a tight 5-3 win at home to a spirited Yew Tree team.

Michael Holmes Parker took the first leg for Legion but Dean North immediately levelled for Yew Tree.

Geoff Taylor then won on the next two legs for Legion teaming up with Steve Wood on pairs before taking a singles leg to put Legion 3-1 up.

Lee Burton reduced the deficit for Yew Tree on the next leg before Craig Johnstone and Dave Wainwright teamed up to put Legion 4-2 up.

Yew Tree Captain Karl Jones won leg seven to make the score 4-3, but Legion A Captain Craig Johnstone had the last say taking the final leg.

Station B remain on the heels of Legion A after winning 6-2 at Bestwood SC A.

Bestwood started the match with real intent, taking the first two legs, inflicting rare defeats on the Stations Butler brothers, Connor Perkins and Dillon Robinson taking the legs.

It certainly sparked a response from Station B who took the next six legs, County B star new signing Luke Wharton and Jason Smith winning two legs each.

On pairs Wharton teamed with Danny Butler and Smith with PJ Singh. The other legs were supplied by Roger Green and Sean Singh.

RB Legion B lost ground on the leaders after a second consecutive 4-4 draw, this time at The Tree.

However, it could have been worse for Legion who found themselves 4-1 down at one stage.

Ashley Bettinson and David Salmon put The Tree 2-0 up before Kieran Sheppard and Malc Grocock teamed up to get Legion a leg on the board. Michael Salmon and James Bettridge put The Tree on the brink of victory at 4-1 up.

Legion B are not a team to surrender easily and captain Dean Dymock and Colin Draycott showed fighting spirit to take the second pairs leg.

Malc Grocock and Kieran Sheppard then completed the comeback, taking the last two legs.

Station A enjoyed their second win of the season, this time at home to a luckless Bestwood SC B, who themselves suffered their eighth consecutive loss - a run that does not reflect some of the good performances they have put in.

Station raced into a 4-0 lead, Phil Buck, Alan Foster and Paul Hibbard taking singles leg and Neal Dawn and Rob Mitchell the first pairs leg.

Rich Bull stopped the rot for Bestwood, taking leg five. Foster and Hibbard then teamed up for Station to restore the four leg cushion.

Connor Clifford won leg seven for Bestwood, but Mitchell took the last leg for Station.

Chequers and Liberal played out a 4-4 draw.

Ashley Dobb took leg one for Chequers before Mark Sheppard levelled for Liberal. Ben Hathersmith and Adam Robinson won the first pair leg for Chequers and Joe Etherington and Dean Robinson took legs four and five to put Chequers 4-1 up.

Liberal have proved themselves to be real contenders this season and took the last three legs to secure a draw, Steve Clark and Ray Oldham on pairs and Aiden Hewes and Oldham on singles.