Notts Premier League gets the all-clear for new cricket season

The long-running dispute that has threatened the future of local cricket’s top domestic league has finally been resolved.

Now the Notts Premier League (NPL) is ready to roll for the new 2014 season, which begins on Saturday 26th April.

Both Rolls-Royce Leisure, of Hucknall, and Papplewick and Linby played in the NPL last summer. But the season ended in chaos when Mansfield Hosiery Mills were thrown out for allegedly making illegal payments to one of their players.

When Hosiery Mills won an appeal to an independent panel and were re-instated, several league officials quit in protest.

It meant only four of the 12 places on the league’s management committee could be filled, forcing the Notts Cricket Board to take temporary control.

Since then, rumours have circulated about splits and breakaway leagues, with many clubs threatening to boycott fixtures against Hosiery Mills.

But now, after an emergency extraordinary general meeting of the league, the clubs have been placated by Hosiery Mills agreeing to accept a 50-point penalty for the new campaign.

“All fixtures will now proceed as planned,” said a league spokesman. “An interim management committee will continue to run the league until the 2014 annual general meeting when elections will be held for officers as usual.”

Papplewick finished bottom of the NPL in 2013 and were relegated to the Bassetlaw League. But John Birch’s Rolls finished second and are among the favourites to land the title this year. They start their fixtures at home to Notts CCC Academy, followed by a trip to Caythorpe on 3rd May.