Ordsall Bridon clinch Championship title - Bassetlaw League round-up

Ben Summerville bowls to Jason Gorman while the field waits in anticipation
Ben Summerville bowls to Jason Gorman while the field waits in anticipation

The Bassetlaw League Championship race is over with Ordsall Bridon claiming their first success since 1988 - and in the end it was quite comfortable.

Whether it would have remained that way had Anish Paraan stayed at Glapwell for the full season is open to debate, because he made a good side into an excellent one, but no one should take away the glory from the Ordsall boys.

They completed the job with an easy 171-run win against neighbours Retford and all the team contributed to the success.

Tim Ward (35), David Fagan (31), Tim Miles (48), Darren Spooner (39) and James Brice (49) all batted well as Bridon reached a massive 279-8.

Pascal Broadley was the principle thorn in their side and he bowled extremely well against the odds to take 3-68.

This was much too much for Retford, who were bowled out for just 108.

Pascal Broadley again showed his class making 38, but the rest were all at sea as Tim Miles (3-32) and Matt Makings (5-27) created havoc amongst the Retford ranks.

Anston crushed a badly depleted Clipstone side (pictured) who, embarrassingly, could only muster nine players for this game which took some of the gloss off what has been a very good season back in the big time for Clipstone.

Batting first Clipstone were bowled out for 192 with Matt Millns continuing his fine form with 80 splendid runs and good support coming from Louis Sprigg with 46.

This wasn’t good enough, though, as Amila Perera once again showed his quality with an unbeaten 84 and with the aid of Josh Marsh (33) they cruised to 194-4 and victory to remain runners-up in the league.

Glapwell failed once again at Kiveton Park. There can be no doubt that the side lost a lot of impetus when Anish Paraan was called back home and they did themselves no favours whatsoever by dropping a lorry load of catches as Kiveton cruised to a seven wicket win.

Batting first, Glapwell made 158-9 a score that never looked good enough at any time.

Liam Douglas (37) and skipper Matt Page (54) both batted well but the rest contributed little as ‘old boy’ Matt Hall captured 3-31 in a fine containing effort.

Although Kiveton lost the dangerous Adam Whiteley early there were very few more hiccups as Richard Grainger (50 not out), Matty Cartwright (55) and Matt Hall, who enjoyed a fine match against his old mates and was undefeated on 38, reached 163-2 and victory.

Thoresby Colliery came back to form with a bang as they absolutely destroyed Cuckney II by 101 runs.

Batting first, Thoresby racked up 249 -7 with Ben Marson (55), Nyeeem Ahmed (49), Arno De Beer (61) and Mohammad Yasar (37) all taking their toll on the Cuckney bowling.

This was miles too good for Cuckney, who were bowled out for just 148.

Only Daniel Wood (30) defied the Thoresby attack for any length of time as Nyeem Ahmed (3-14) and Jack Willis (3-26) made it look so easy as they coasted to an easy win.

Worksop had a surprise waiting for them at Central Avenue - and not a nice one.

Relegation threatened Harthill pulled off a four-wicket win to bolster their chance of survival - and what a good performance it was.

Worksop were all out for 188 with Tim Smith jnr again impressing with 30 and Connor Smith making an excellent 74.

Wayne Spooner added 36 while Dinal Fonseka, who took 3-57, was the best of a tidy attack for Harthill.

Fonseka was at it again with the bat and he clobbered a terrific 60 runs before falling to a catch in the deep.

Rob Jones (34) and Ian Briggs (31) completed the job with Luke Ambrose (3-13) trying to shake some rhythm into Worksop without success.

There is no better sight in the league than watching Ian Flood and Dilhan Cooray of Notts & Arnold Amateur in full flow and, unfortunately for North Wheatley with Leverton that is what happened at Goosedale.

Flood caressed the ball to all parts of the ground on his way to making 56, while Cooray made it look so very easy as he strode to an unbeaten 73.

Craig Harrison added the fireworks with some big hitting to make 37 and Jamie Bovill (3-71) and Callum Harrison (3- 69) spun their way to success as Notts & Arnold closed on 221-6.

For some time it looked as though North Wheatley might make this target, but when Will Shaw and skipper Richard Robinson, who had made an excellent 65, were both out in two overs, there was no way back.

The rest capitulated as North Wheatley were dismissed for 172, giving Notts & Arnold a 49-run win.

Dilhan Cooray, with 4-32 was the tormentor-in-chief as his side marched on to another success.