‘Spot On evening’ as pool league hands out awards

editorial image

Awards were handed out at Hucknall Wednesday Night Pool League’s annual presentation night at the Royal British Legion.

The setting was quite appropriate as the two Legion teams appeared most often in the presentation.

The league winners were British Legion B, captained by Dean Dymock, the runners-up being the British Legion A. Dean Dymock was the winner of the Singles Knock-Out Cup, having won convincingly in the final against Mick Salmon. Dean was also the winner of the Rankings Winner’s Cup and Champion of Champions.

British Legion B were the winners of the Knock out Cup, beating the Bentinck Newbies in the final.

Spot On team captained by Karl Jones, were the winners of the Mellors/Bicknell Trophy.

The Ladies Singles winner was Andrea Green, who beat Lauren Powell in the final.

The Pairs Knock out cup was won by Curly Johnson and Steve Wood, representing British Legion A, beating Malc Grocock and Dean Dymock in the final. British Legion A’s Dave Stacey-King and Dave Ellis won the Captain’s and Secretary’s Cup, beating Rob Lewis and Mick Bradley of the Green Dragon.

Finally, the Sporting Award and Wooden Spoon went to the Yew Tree Ladies. This was the first year that two ladies teams had competed in the league, the other team being George St Ladies.

“Many thanks to Cathy at the British Legion for a wonderful evening,” said a league spokesperson.