Station masters top roll of honour at Hucknall pool league’s big night out

STEALING THE SHOW -- Station Hotel B, who completed the league and Knockout Cup double.
STEALING THE SHOW -- Station Hotel B, who completed the league and Knockout Cup double.

The show was stolen by double-winning Station Hotel B when the HUCKNALL EPA POOL LEAGUE enjoyed its big night out.

Dozens of players and league backers gathered for the league’s annual presentation of awards to mark a successful 2013/14 season.

And Station B topped the honours list after winning both the league title and also the Knockout Cup.

No wonder they were beaming with joy when collecting their trophies. Their squad comprised Dave Butler, Danny Butler, Paddy McShane, Roger Green, Andrea Green, Ian Wikeley, Tim McShane, Simon Thompson, Sean Chauntry, Paul Hibbard, Paul Heath, Alan Foster, Phil Buck, Brian Woodward, Josh Hibbard, George Roy and John Nunns.

Not far behind in the celebration stakes were Bulwell side, Park Tavern, who were runners-up in both the league and cup.

While on the individual front, pride of place went to singles champion Adam Fowkes, of Harrier H2O, ladies’ singles champion Kath Orange, of The Dragon, and pairs champions Dean Dymock and Malc Grocock, of Royal British Legion B.

The league also showed its generous, caring side, presenting a cheque for £700 to the Battle Battens charity, based in Hucknall. The money will help Freddie and Louie Dawkins, who are the only identical twins in the world with the debilitating Batten Disease, for which there is no cure. The nine-year-old brothers are the sons of Andrew and Sarah Dawkins, of Annesley Road.

Other award-winners on the night were -- Mellors/Bicknell Shield winners, Royal British Legion B; Mellors/Bicknell Shield runners-up, Chequers; Scotch Pairs winners, Geoff Taylor (Royal British Legion) and Joe Etherington (Park Tavern); Scotch Pairs runners-up, Chris Rigby and Andy Warriner (Park Tavern); Individual Rankings Table winner, Dave Butler (Station Hotel B); Singles runners-up, Ray Oldham (Liberal); Champion Of Champions, Dave Butler (Station Hotel B); Ladies’ Singles runner-up, Jill Dobb (The Dragon); Pairs runners-up, Steve McIntyre and Shane Wood (The Dragon); Captain and Secretary Pairs winners, Joe Etherington and Billy Wood (Park Tavern); Captain and Secretary Pairs runners-up, Carl Jones and Lee Burton (Yew Tree); Team Rankings champion, Billy Wood (Park Tavern); Sporting Award, Bestwood Village Social Club.