T20 win has Rolls singing in the rain

DEJA VU -- Rolls-Royce Leisure lifted the Hucknall Sports Spencer Cup for the second season running
DEJA VU -- Rolls-Royce Leisure lifted the Hucknall Sports Spencer Cup for the second season running

ROLLS-Royce Leisure wrapped up a memorable weekend by winning the Twenty20 Hucknall Sports Spencer Cup — to add to the South Notts Cricket League Division A title they secured two days earlier.

In the final last Monday at the New Gatehouse Ground, Rolls-Royce retained the trophy thanks to a faster run rate against Hucknall as the final was brought to a premature end by heavy rain.

Rolls had posted a challenging 163-8 from their 20 overs, and they had ‘home side’ Hucknall at 99-6 from 13 overs when the umpires called a halt to the action after the heavens opened.

And, with no possibility of the weather improving, Rolls-Royce were declared winners on a faster run rate to retain the trophy they won last season.

Earlier, both Rolls openers, Wasim Karim and Husnain Riaz, went without scoring before Shaharyar Aslam produced an innings-changing display of 61 runs from 38 balls.

Sharique Dad (18), Abdul Sultan Kyan (11) and Arfan Khalid (15) all kept things ticking along before skipper Saleem Karim gave the innings a final push with 32 not out.

For Hucknall, the wickets went to Jake Wright (two for 27 from four overs), Joel Wright two for 16 from three), Adam Scott (two for 34 from four) and Josh Buckley (two for 30 from four).

The Hucknall reply began with a downpour and they did well to persevere to a stage where they had 82 off ten overs to close to the required run rate as Joel Wright crashed 34 off 13 balls.

But although the umpires gave the tie every chance and persisted until conditions became just too wet and too much for everyone concerned, they had no option but to call a halt.

For Rolls, Wasim Karim bagged three wickets for 15 runs from four overs. The other wickets to fall went to Aslam (one for 26 from four overs) and Navid Kanwal (one for 29 from two overs).

Unsurprisingly, Aslam was awarded the man-of-the match award.

Hucknall’s best player was Joel Wright for his efforts with both bat and ball.

Rolls had gone straight through to the final after Papplewick and Linby withdrew from the competition due to being unable to raise a side.

Hucknall had seen off Kimberley by 30 runs in their semi earlier on the same day.

Robin Maxwell had starred with the bat for Hucknall, scoring 57 from 32 balls as Hucknall achieved 159-6 from their 20 overs.

In reply, Kimberley were restricted to 129-7 from their alloted overs. The Hucknall wicket-takers were Joel Wright (two for 21 from four overs), Max Thompson (two for 19 from four), Josh Buckley (two for seven from two) and Adam Scott (one for 20 from four overs).