Three-way tie at top

An unbelievable three-way tie for first place in the individual rankings table brought the HUCKNALL EPA POOL LEAGUE campaign to a thrilling climax.

The table has been tight knit all season, with the lead changing hands several times.

But after the final set of matches, the title had to be shared by Royal British Legion A duo Tim McShane and Richard Devine, plus Dean Britton, of league champions Spot-On Low-C.

All three finished with 17 wins from 22 matches, a successful ratio of 84% and 129 points.

Only two points behind in fourth was another Low-C star, Ryan Norris (17 wins from 21 matches, 86%). And only three points behind in fifth was Adam Fowkes, of Harrier (16 wins from 23 matches, 78%).

The rest of the top ten was made up of Tony Dobb (Empire) 120 points, Shane Wood (The Dragon) 119 points, Scott Oxford (Low-C) 115 points, Martin Bremner (Legion A) 114 points and Simon Thompson (Low-C) 113 points.

As for those final set of matches, Low-C rounded off their championship season with a 5-3 victory away to Royal British Legion B.

The scoreline flattered the home team because the visitors sailed into an unassailable 5-0 lead at one stage, courtesy of Colin Draycott, Dean Britton, Ryan Norris, Scott Oxford and the pairing of Draycott and Lee Carrington.

Runners-up Legion A signed off with a 4-4 draw at Harrier, who stormed back from 2-0 and 4-1 down.

Richard Devine, Tim McShane, Mark Williams and Nige Burton appeared to have put the visitors in control.

But Harrier duo Adam Fiowkes and Aiden Flanagan had other ideas, winning the second pairs leg and then the final two singles frames.

Meanwhile third-placed Empire completed their fixtures with a 6-2 home win over Yew Tree.

But it wasn’t all doom and gloom for Tree, who defeated bottom-of-the-table Chequers 5-3 in their other remaining match. They took the opening three legs and then, after a plucky Chequers fightback, the last two.

Chequers followed up with a night that summed up their entire season because they were whitewashed 8-0 at home by Harrier.

Finishing the year with mixed fortunes were Liberal Club and Bestwood Village Social Club.

When the pair met each other, Bestwood eased to a 6-2 success. But the following week, they crashed 6-2 away to Station Hotel (Hucknall) B, while Liberal recovered to hammer Green Dragon 7-1.

The architects of Station B’s victory were Andrea Green, Alan Foster, Ian Wikeley, Martin Foster and the pairings of Paul Hibbard and Jamie Henson and Jim Campbell and Roger Green.

All eyes now focus on the league’s finals night later this month.