Trophies galore for young football stars

TOP TEAM -- the boys of the Under-11 Sunday Black outfit were crowned Team Of The Year
TOP TEAM -- the boys of the Under-11 Sunday Black outfit were crowned Team Of The Year

A STAGGERING total of more than 380 awards handed out across four presentation evenings underlined the ongoing success of the Hucknall Sports Junior Football Club.

More than 1,000 people connected with the club from its soccer school up to the under-18s team flocked to the John Godber Centre on Ogle Street for the marathon event.

Special guests invited along to dish out the awards included former Nottingham Forest player Nialle Rodney, Jodie Cauldwell, a development officer with Nottinghamshire Football Association, Andrew Eastwood, chairman of Notts County Ladies (former Linby Colliery Welfare Ladies) and Les Howie, head of grassroots football at the Football Association in London.

Among the gongs handed over were loyalty awards for players with more than 11 years’ service with the club. These went to Zac Flint, James Innes, Lewis Early, Alex Orton and James Talbot from the under-18s, who have registered more than 1,000 appearances.

The same prize went to under-15s trio Cameron Tate, Mathew Yates and Fraser Flint, who have 750 appearances under their belts.

Chay Murden, also of the under-15s, was commended for 11 years’ service and presented with a pair of goalkeeping gloves signed by Forest star Lee Camp.

Once again Sports enjoyed a huge amount of success last season, but the VAP Team Of The Year accolade went to the Under-11s Sunday Black outfit managed by Paul Bradbury and Justin Stenson. In their debut season, they completed a league and cup double and narrowly missed out in the semi-finals of the Notts FA Shield.

Officials reflected on a campaign that included nine trophies in the Young Elizabethan League, two from the Notts Youth League, a third consecutive County FA Shield for the Under-14s Saturday side and sportsmanship awards for the Under-15s Reds and the Under-10s Reds.

Other prizes included the Irene and Cis Flint Trophy, which went to Barry Scarbro for his promotion of the club, and the Richard Silverwood Award to outstanding junior member Jacob Clarke.

Special awards went to Under-14s manager Martin Whitley, Sophie Whitley and club treasurer Marilyn Wheat, who will stand down from her role t the end of the season after 12 years in the job and a 34-year association with the club.

The full list of award-winners by age-group is:

UNDER-7S: manager’s player Cory Clarke, players’ player Thomas Craig, most improved George Bishton; UNDER-8S: manager’s player Keegan Booth, players’ player Daniel Butler, most improved Thomas Conners; UNDER-9S SATURDAY: manager’s player Ethan Fells, players’ player Billy Gorman, most improved Darnel Beeson; UNDER-9S SUNDAY: manager’s player Mitchell West, players’ player Taylor Crich, most improved Mitchell Wright; UNDER-10S WHITE: manager’s player Lewis Rigley-Phoenix, players’ player Nathan Gascoigne, most improvd Thomas Poole; UNDER-10S RED: manager’s player Zak Richardson, players’ player Nathan Seaman, most improved James Abbott; UNDER-11S RED SATURDAY: manager’s player Josh Pearson, players’ player Luke Watson, most improved Jake Hollis; UNDER-11S WHITE SUNDAY: manager’s player Alex Humphreys, players’ player Matthew Blackwell, most improved Charlie Gisborne; UNDER-11S BLACK SUNDAY: manager’s player Jack Marsden, players’ player Connor Kennedy, most improved Jack Clark; UNDER-12S: manager’s player Ryan Towle, players’ player Tom Eastwood, most improved Oliver Bowley; UDER-13S BLACK SATURDAY: manager’s player Cameron Henrys, players’ player Jack Bradshaw, most improved, Matthew Maiden; UNDER-13S WHITE SATURDAY: manager’s player Jacob Carke, players’ player Rory McNelis, most improved Jordan Steane; UNDER-13S RED SUNDAY: manager’s player Jacob Clarke, players’ player Jacob Clarke, most improved Nick Wain; UNDER-14S SATURDAY: manager’s player Lewis Oldershaw, players’ player Ben Clarke, most improved Stephen Whitley; UNDER-14S SUNDAY: manager’s player Macauley Walker, players’ player Sam Farn, most improved Adam Ellis; UNDER-15S: manager’s player Tom Percival, players’ player Chay Murden, most improved Michael South; UNDER-16S: manager’s player William Hillary, players’ player Dean Robinson, most improved Fraser Flint; UNDER-17S: manager’s player Liam Ward, players’ player Shane David, most improved George Bentley; UNDER-18S: manager’s player Zac Flint, players’ player Harry Handley, most improved Dean Davenport.