Will Swann be on song for a fourth rally title?

Motorsport fans will be in for a treat when the SA Gas 2014 Premier Rally and Premier Historic Rally returns to Sherwood Forest Pines this Sunday.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 19th November 2014, 9:00 am

The event will again be run entirely within Sherwood Pines Forestry Complex near Kings Clipstone, Nottinghamshire as a single venue rally with six stages totalling 33 forest stage miles.

Being run in the same format for its fourth year will make it an ideal event for spectators to see all day action at one venue.

Last year’s winning driver and Dukeries Motor Club member Robert Swann in his Subaru Impreza S11 WRC, with new co-driver Darren Garrod, will be looking to retain his crown and make it four in a row. Swann and Garrod came second earlier this year in SOL Rally Barbados

Hot on their tail will be the Subaru Impreza of 19-year-old Aaron Newby and co-driver Robert Fagg, who finished second in last year’s rally and are current Manx Rally Champions after another recent win on the Isle of Man. Aaron made the history books last year at 18 years old, being the youngest rally driver to win the Rally Isle of Man

Other leading entries following them off the line are Karl and Guy Simmons in rally sponsors SA Gas’ Subaru Impreza S11 WRC

One to look out for will be 17-year-old George Lepley in his Vauxhall Corsa, following in the footsteps of father Jason, who won last year’s Historic Rally and his grandfather, rally legend Graham.

George has been the star in the Junior Rally Category for the last two years.

He teamed up with dad earlier this year in the Dukeries Rally and also competed at the Goodwood Festival of Speed with stars such as World Rally Champion Sebastian Loeb.

Regular Premier Rally award winners Shelly Taunt and co-driver Julie Murphy are back again in their Subaru Impreza, who are looking at becoming UK’s first all-female team to take part and compete in the amazing Rallye Aïcha des Gazelles du Maroc in Morocco in March next year

Other local crews taking part include Gary Wayne and Neal Bloor in a Subaru Impreza, Mansfield’s Charlie Blaney with Adrian Wilford in an Escort MK2 Pinto, Chris Langthorne in his Ford Escort RS1800, Dean Hickling and Geoff Moss in the popular Sierra Sapphire, Mark Mazzitelli and Pete Butler Ford Escort Mk2 and Tony and Simon Szubert in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6.

Over the years Previous Premier Rally winners have also included this year’s BTRDA Champion, Chesterfield’s Steve Perez, Brian Bell and Hugh Hunter, all in Ford Escort WRC cars, all well known locally, nationally and internationally.

Sunday’s SA Gas Premier Rally and Premier Historic Rally will be the final round of the 2014 Roadrunner/ Phoenix Awards ANEMMC Stage Rally Championship, the Sheffield Rolling Road EMAMC Multi Venue Stage Rally Championship and the AEMC Ward Trophy.

In addition the event is also the final round of the very popular Dukeries Motor Club Rally Championship.

Spectators will be able to get to get close the rally cars being serviced by their crews, The Service Area is just 400m from the stages.

For a full rally history and spectator safety advice, don’t miss our two-page preview in this week’s Chad newspaper.