County Council election: How Hucknall voted last time around

On the eve of tomorrow’s Nottinghamshire County Council elections, we take a look back at how people in the Dispatch area voted last time.

By John Smith
Wednesday, 5th May 2021, 4:26 pm

Overall across the county the Conservatives emerged as the largest party on Notts County Council after the last elections in 2017, taking 31 seats to Labour’s 23 with the Ashfield Independents in third with five.

It was much more clear cut in the Dispatch area as the Conservatives won all four seats available.

But will that be the case again this time?

The Nottinghamshire County Council election takes place on Thursday

Here is how you voted in Hucknall and Newstead in 2017.

Hucknall North

Ben Bradley (Conservatives) 1,539

Alice Grice (Labour) 1,141

John Willmott (Hucknall First Community Forum) 282

Ray Young (UKIP) 161

James Harvey (Liberal Democrats) 89.

Conservative majority: 398

Hucknall South

Phil Rostance (Conservatives), 1,136

John Wilkinson (Labour) 1,062

Jack Holland (UKIP) 313

Trevor Locke (Hucknall First Community Forum) 196

Alex Sjoberg-Weekes (Liberal Democrats) 97.

Conservative majority: 64

Hucknall West

Kevin Rostance (Conservatives) 1,535

Joe Wakinson (Labour) 988

Stuart Bestwick (UKIP) 239

Geoff Ware (Hucknall First Community Forum) 160

Robert Charlesworth (Liberal Democrats) 54

Conservative majority: 547


Chris Barnfather (Conservatives) 2,326

Michael Smith (Labour) 648

Rhea Waters (UKIP) 179

David Watts (Liberal Democrats) 123

Rebecca Connick (Green) 115

Con majority: 1,678