Local swim pair in the frame as county sports awards nominations are invited

Local Paralympic swim stars Charlotte Henshaw and Ollie Hynd are expected to be in the running as Nottinghamshire County Council seeks nominations for the 22nd annual Nottinghamshire Sports Awards.
Charlotte Henshaw and Ollie Hynd   unveil pictures of them at Water MeadowsCharlotte Henshaw and Ollie Hynd   unveil pictures of them at Water Meadows
Charlotte Henshaw and Ollie Hynd unveil pictures of them at Water Meadows

In total, 14 categories are open for nominations from individuals or clubs. Five categories are dedicated to recognising the talents and achievements of young people.

The full list of categories is; Junior Team, Junior Volunteer, Junior Disabled Sportsperson, Junior Sportsperson, Young Coach, Team, Volunteer, Disabled Sportsperson, Sportsperson, Performance Coach, Community Coach, Club, Sporting School of the Year. For all these categories the qualifying period is 1st December 2012 to 30th November 2013.

The final category is the Roll of Honour which recognises Nottinghamshire residents who have devoted their lives to sport in the County (no time frame is placed on this category).

The world of professional sport will also be recognised with the many exceptional performances delivered by Nottinghamshire teams and individuals.

Highlights include Notts Outlaws winning the Yorkshire Bank YB40 event, Nottinghamshire cricketers including Jenny Gunn, Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad starring in the Ashes and Mansfield Town winning promotion back to the Football League.

Nottinghamshire County Council’s own Shining Star funded Paralympian Richard Whitehead MBE has just completed 40 marathons in 40 days as part of a charity challenge from John O’Groats to Land’s End, and there have been memorable medal winning performances from the likes of swimmers Ollie Hynd MBE and Charlotte Henshaw at this year’s World Championships.

Meanwhile, the county council’s £1.7m Olympic and Paralympic Legacy Fund has helped to support more than 200 local clubs to enhance their facilities and encourage more people to take up the sport in the wake of London 2012.

Nottinghamshire County Council Culture Committee Chairman Councillor John Knight said: “The Nottinghamshire Sports Awards honour sporting achievement in a range of categories and there have been many memorable highlights again this year.

“The Olympic and Paralympic Legacy Fund inspired many clubs across the county to bid for funds to help nurture sporting talent and a lot of people give up huge amounts of their time to volunteer for different sporting causes. The awards give people the chance to nominate someone deserving in many different categories.”

The awards will be presented during a ceremony on Monday 20 January at the East Midlands Conference Centre. More than 480 people enjoyed last year’s Nottinghamshire Sports Awards. Winners last year included - Team of the Year - Tim Baillie MBE and Etienne Stott MBE, Sutton Sting Ice Hockey Club (Club of the Year) and Junior Team of the Year - Nottinghamshire Cricket Board, Boys Under 17 Team.

The closing date for nominations is Sunday 1 December. For more details and to make a nomination, please visit the Nottinghamshire County Council website: www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk/sport

For more details please contact Simon Redfern in the Nottinghamshire County Council press office on 0115 9773791 or email [email protected]

Find our news on Twitter @NottsCCNews